, , , ,

The Scientists: A Family Romance


  • Zu diesem Produkt wurden keine Features hinterlegt. Weitere Informationen zu diesem Produkt finden Sie weiter unten in der Produktbeschreibung oder bei den jeweiligen Online Shops.

  Alle Produktdaten, Preise und Angebote wurden von unseren Partnernetzwerken übermittelt.

Preisvergleich

Bester Gesamtpreis
0,10 €*
Versand ab 3,99 €
Gesamt: 4,09 €

The Scientists: A Family Romance - Marco Roth

A frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician—from the time he could get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a word like ´´De-oxy ribonucleic acid,” or recite...

Verfügbarkeit beim Händler erfragen.

18,83 €*
Versand ab 0,00 €
Gesamt: 18,83 €

The Scientists: A Family Romance

The Scientists With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician, Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around cultural and intellectual events. That world ended when his father started to...

Versandfertig in 6 - 10 Werktagen

* Alle Preisangaben sind in Euro, inkl. der jeweils geltenden gesetzlichen Mehrwertsteuer und ggf. zuzüglich Versand. Eine zwischenzeitliche Änderung der Rangfolge, der Lieferzeit und der Versandkosten im Preisvergleich ist möglich. Die Preise könnten seit der letzten Aktualisierung gestiegen sein. Die angezeigten Versandkosten sind "ab" Preise und können je nach Lieferadresse, Kundenstatus und Warenwert abweichen. Alle Angaben sind ohne Gewähr. Weitere Informationen hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte unseren AGB.

Letzte Aktualisierung der Daten: 11.12.2018 10:06

Produktbeschreibung

A frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician-from the time he could get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a word like ´´De-oxy ribonucleic acid," or recite a French poem-Marco Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it's a story of how precociousness can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people's. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J.R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Kategorie:

ProduktbeschreibungProduktbeschreibung anzeigen

Produkteigenschaften

Bereich Gebundene Ausgabe
EAN 9780374210281
ISBN 9780374210281
Abmessungen (L x B x H) 149 x 21 x 218 mm
Gewicht 327g
Hersteller/Herausgeber
Farrar Straus & Giroux
Sprachen Englisch, Englisch, Englisch
Seitenanzahl 196
Paket (L x B x H) 211 x 142 x 23 mm
Paketgewicht 295g